Nine University of Oregon students have been selected as Presidential Undergraduate Research Scholars.  The PURS program was established by professor of chemistry, Geraldine Richmond, through her appointment as presidential chair in science. The presidential chair appointments were established in 2005 through an endowment fund and are intended to attract and retain distinguished faculty who excel in research, attract and teach top students and create an expectation of achievement that can elevate an entire academic department.


[PURS scholars: back row, from left to right: Manju Bangalore, Collin Hickmann, Alexia Smith, and N. Ian Rinehart; front row, from left to right: Selina Robson, Kendra Walters, Victoria Stanfill, Anna Hickey; not pictured: Brianna Stamas]

The PURS program is designed to provide opportunities for undergraduate students that are Oregon high school graduates majoring in chemistry, physics and the geological sciences to conduct meaningful research under the guidance of UO faculty members. The scholars will conduct research throughout the academic year and be enrolled in a course that meets weekly to engage in discussions on a variety of topics including emerging research topics, responsible conduct of research, abstract writing, effectively communicating research, career preparation and applying for graduate school and distinguished scholarships.

The 2015-2016 Presidential Undergraduate Research Scholars are Anna Hickey (Eugene), Collin Hickmann (Bend), Alexia Smith (Springfield), N. Ian Rinehart (West Linn), Kendra Walters (Roseburg), Selina Robson (Corvallis), Brianna Stamas (Happy Valley), Victoria Stanfill (Beaverton), and Manju Bangalore (Corvallis).

If you know of a recent achievement in undergraduate research by a student or faculty member we would love to hear about it. Please contact