2017 VPRI Undergraduate Fellows Selected

UO undergraduate researchers examining everything from inter-tribal dynamics to searching for Di-Higgs resonance to feminism and gender in modern Irish literature have received Vice President for Research and Innovation Undergraduate Fellowships for the summer of 2017.


The awards are distributed annually by the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program within the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation. Designed to stimulate promising undergraduate research and scholarly activity under the mentorship of UO faculty members, the awards support scholarship, creative projects and quantitative or qualitative research from all disciplinary backgrounds. Undergraduate fellows receive a $5,000 stipend to support their work during the summer.

Fellowship applications were open to all undergraduate students who had a fully developed project and a faculty member who would serve as their mentor during the fellowship period. Recipients were selected through competitive review by the Research Advisory Board’s UROP Subcommittee.

The 2017 VPRI Undergraduate Fellowship recipients are:

  • Adrian Gordon, Chemistry, Shannon Boettcher (faculty mentor), “Energetic Loss From the Use of Hole Scavengers to Measure Photoelectrochemical Cell Efficiency Limits
  • Aidan Grealish, Art and Technology, Colin Ives (faculty mentor), “The Body Electronic: Exploring the Permeability of the Self in the Age of Wearable Computing
  • Alexander Lygo, Physics and Chemistry, David Johnson (faculty mentor), “Elucidating the effects of nanoarchitecture on weak localization in (SnSe)m[TiSe2]2
  • Allison Zhou, Biology, Caitlin Fausey (faculty mentor), “How Object Frequency Distribution Affects Early Word Learning
  • Anisha Adke, Biology, Adam Miller (faculty mentor), “The genetic basis of the first connections of the brain
  • Clara Gorman, History, Kevin Hatfield and Jennifer O’Neal (faculty mentors), “Inter-tribal Dynamics of the Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs and Grande Ronde Reservations
  • Geena Littel, Earth Sciences, Amanda Thomas (faculty mentor), “Variation in Seismic-wave Attenuation along the Cascadia Subduction Zone Determined from Tectonic Tremor
  • Lila Kaye, Cellular, Molecular, and Developmental Biology, Karen Guillemin (faculty mentor), “Determining the Fitness Advantage Conferred by Anti-inflammatory Gene Expression to Commensal Bacteria
  • Peace Kotamnives, Physics and Mathematics, Eric Torrence (faculty mentor), “Search for Di-Higgs Resonance at the ATLAS Experiment
  • Sarah Hovet, English and Journalism, Barbara Mossberg (faculty mentor), “Beyond Muses: Feminism and Gender in Modern Irish Literature (1880 – Present) from Augusta Gregory to Eavan Boland

Visit the VPRI Undergraduate Fellowship website for more detailed information.